More Travels

The Face on the Tree, although there is a slight resemblance to the Face on Mars, is from Roswell and the place we stayed for one night. Seems like everyone in Roswell is promoting weirdness as well as UFO research. The second shot is from the Grand Canyon. We spent a morning stopping at a few viewpoints and then I lost patience with all of the tour buses and ……well, just too many humans overrunning this national treasure.

Last night there was no viable WiFi, hence no posting. We stayed in Needles, CA. just at the beginning of the Mohave Desert. It was 115 degrees when we stopped for the evening around 7pm. Tonight in Vasilia , CA. it is a cool 100 degrees. As we head north the temps should cool down a bit, we hope.

Which brings me to this point: I had a reoccurrence of my food poisoning experience in Flagstaff, AZ two nights ago and we decided it was good to push a little harder to get home by Wednesday night so I could see the doctor on Thursday. We didn’t change our route/course, just the amount of miles we drive each day and we curt down the  stay at Mt. Shasta to one night instead of two. So,…..I have emailed my doctor and hope to hear from him on Monday, which I think is tomorrow, right? I have totally lost track of days and days of the week over the past couple of weeks. I bought a $8 watch that doesn’t have those features, oddly enough. So….. I seemed to be untethered from the daily, weekly routines- which is a good place to be.

Also, all of the images I have been posting have been phone pics, with some editing. I do have nearly 1000 images on my two DSLR’s and a point and shoot camera to go through over the next weeks, so even though the journey will be over, the images will linger. If there was better wifi connections along this journey I would have attempted to post a few High Res images, but….. time constraints, etc.

I have a trip to New York set for the end of October so I hope I am finished with these images by then. When I get back from New York I actually have a wedding reception to shoot as well as a portfolio to shoot for a musician friend of mine. Going to be a busy Fall.

We have met some interesting people along this journey; this planet is worthy of preserving if we can find a way to get to a compromise and start working with nature rather then exploiting. One of my personal paradigm shifts was seeing all of the Wind Turbine farms in Nebraska and Iowa, two places I don’t think as all that progressive. They are way ahead of the rest of the nation. And, sadly, places like Arizona, which has all of that sunshine and few inhabitants did not have one wind turbine farm! Instead, what I saw were old, coal burning power plants in an ecosystem that could probably meet all of their power needs by solar. Something is really amiss with Arizona. I would bet the power lobby ( coal) has something to do with this situation. Really too bad. The coal bring power plants must be 50-75 years old and a blight on the landscape. Mountains of coal!!! Their coal has to be brought from elsewhere, so…….more waste in the system.

Anyway, I sit here using my one free hour of WiFi, hurriedly typing away while dripping with sweat; my fingers are literally slipping around the keys!!

Be well

Safe Travels

from The Mothership.

One thought on “More Travels

  1. I am sorry to hear of the illness issues and I know you will be glad to get back home. Having the photos and sorting through them, will hopefully bring back the best memories of your trip. I love the humor of the weirdness of Roswell and the whole Route 66 thing. Also, buddy, you can’t spell! But obviously heat has fried your brain.

    Like

Leave a comment